Web Filter 3

Override Users

Override Users Basics

This page opens when you navigate to Web Filter and click Override Users. This page lists Override Users Lists and Assignments. From this page, you can add or edit your Override Users Lists.
Use this page to configure lists of users, user OUs, or user groups who can override the web filter when they attempt to visit a page that is blocked by their Rule Set. You can use override users in order to assign special permissions for particular teachers, administrators, and even for students who are working on an assignment that temporarily requires additional access that is not granted by the regular rule set used.

Adding an Override Users List

  • 1. Click Web Filter, then click Override Users.
  • 2. In the Override Users grid, click the green “+” icon. This action opens the following page:

  • 3. In the Override Users form, edit the fields as needed.
  • 4. Click Save to apply your changes, or click Cancel to discard your changes and return to the previous page.

Configurable Fields on this Page

  • Name – Enter a name for this Override Users List. This name will be listed in the Access Page area of the Edit Rule Set
  • Description – Enter a brief description for this Override Users List.

 

Editing an Override Users List

  • 1. Click Web Filter, then click Override Users.
  • 2. Click the name to edit the item. This action opens the following page:

  • 3. In the Override Users grid, click the the user name to edit a user list. This action opens the following page:

  • 4. Edit the fields as needed.
  • 5. Click Save to apply your changes, or click Cancel to discard your changes and return to the previous page.

Configurable Fields on this Page

  • Name – Enter a name for this Override Users List. This name will be listed in the Access Page area of the Edit Rule Set
  • Description – Enter a brief description for this Override Users List.

Note: Google authentication can be used for personal overrides, but not the “teacher override” where the override is performed for another user.

Note: Override users lists are not active until you assign them to a rule set.

Deleting an Override Users List

  • To delete (permanently remove) an item, mouse over the item you wish to remove, then click the X on the right side of the row. You will be prompted to confirm the action.

Caution: Items deleted this way are permanently removed, and cannot be recovered.

 

Assigning an Override Users List to a Rule Set

If you have not already done so, create the Override User List.

  • 1. Click Web Filter, then open the Policy Management menu and click Rule Sets.

  • 2. Click the name to edit the Rule Set.
  • 3. On the Rule Set page, scroll down to Access Page.

  • 4. In the Access Page grid, select (check) Require username and password to override from the dropdown list.
  • 5. Select an Override Users List from the dropdown list.
  • 6. Click Save to apply your changes, or click Cancel to discard your changes and return to the previous page.